“It’s not true I had nothing on, I had the radio on….”

“It’s not true I had nothing on, I had the radio on.” – Marylin Monroe
Friday 23rd May 2008 saw the opening of a fantastic new exhibition of the last professional photo shoot of  my icon, Marilyn Monroe. Taken just a couple of month before her untimely death, these photos provide an amazing insight into the age of the Hollywood Icon.

The most likeable aspect of the collection is how natural and relaxed the photographs are, completely blowing away any preconceptions that she was a troubled, lonely figure in her final months.

The honour was meeting the photographer, Lawerence Schiller himself. I spent the whole night plucking up the courage to talk to him, get him to sign the book I’d bought. I decided I’d better ask a question about her, a unique question. After spending 10 minutes pondering over my glass of wine thinking of an integral, smart thing to say I approaced Mr Schiller.
I was a bundle of nerves. This was a man who’d met Monroe!
I swallowed hard and blurted out; “What was she like?” (Dammit)
He responded; “She was alright.” and I could see a twinkle in his eye.
It is as if she was just anyone, probably something she quite enjoyed at the height of her fame. And probably why the photos are so unusual and uncomposed.

http://www.lawrenceschiller.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Leave a Reply

