I am Troy Davis

Dear Georgia,
We don’t know if Troy Davis killed a man.
Neither did you,
But we all now know you definitely killed a man.
Signed, the world.
– My tweet, which was made tweet of the day by Twitter 22/09/11
www.twitter.com/misslexirose

Last night I joined a few hundred people outside the American Embassy here in London to await the fate of a man who may have killed a policeman 22 years ago. He has always insisted he didn’t do it. There is no physical evidence and 7 out of 9 witnesses have since recanted their statements.

Too Much Doubt.

Sadly at 4.08am (GMT) this morning, the powers that be in the state of Georgia executed Troy Davis.
Join the fight against the Death Penalty today. We made a promise tonight in the last hours of Troy Davis’s life that is we would continue the fight in his memory should he be executed today.

As he said in his last statement:
“The struggle for justice doesn’t end with me. This struggle is for all the Troy Davises who came before me and all the ones who will come after me. I’m in good spirits and I’m prayerful and at peace. But I will not stop fighting until I’ve taken my last breath.”

And we should not stop fighting now. Send a message for the family of Troy Davis here.
http://action.amnesty.org.uk/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=1194&ea.campaign.id=12163

Not in my name.
I am Troy Davis.
Too much doubt.

Leave a comment

Filed under News, Opinion

Leave a Reply

