Pick-me-up.

The blues are because you’re getting fat and maybe it’s been raining too long, you’re just sad that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?

– Holly Golightly Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Today was not a good day. Not for any reason except it wasn’t a good day.

 

I woke up in a mood and have been fairly moody all day. Approach. With. Caution.

 

 

I felt down and the corners of my mouth were paralysed, unable to create a smile. Not today. It could have been the fact it was grey and miserable outside. Maybe it’s because I have a pile of unopened mail. Or perhaps it’s because I had to do my laundry. I’m just not sure.

It was just one of those days I wanted nothing more than to fill my hot water bottle and crawl under my duvet and forget it all.

But the wonderful thing about days with the mean reds as Miss Golightly would call them is to make your troubles go away you just seek out those things that will comfort you. For Golightly – it was of course Tiffany’s.

I think it’s OK to feel blue every now and then. As long as you know how to pull yourself out of it. I know exactly what I need to do when I’m feeling down in the dumps.

 

 

Listen: to Otis Redding.

Lying in the dark listening to Otis always comforts me. It’s like he’s stroking my head and singing just to me, feeling my mood. He gets it.

 

 

 

Go and seek: A little help from my friends.

A coffee with my best friend Rob always helps. Even though today I dragged him out of his sick bed (sorry x). Knowing there’s someone out there you can say all those crazy things to, sound off and not feel judged. Rob found out a long time ago I’m mad. So he’s not shocked by anything I have to say…ish.

 

 

 

 

Watch: A romantic movie.

Tonight it was Amelie. I lost myself in a wonderful world of people watching, little street cafes and the winding roads of the Montmartre.

Others that do it for me are of course Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Some Like It Hot, A Bout De Souffle, 500 Days of Summer and Roman Holiday – to name but a few.

 

 

Eat: Digestive Biscuits

Dipped in a glass of milk.

No further explanation required.

 

 

And once I feel comforted and at peace I usually drift off to sleep and when I wake, it’s a new day and I feel much, much better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

