“No one will ever believe you…”

So the other day, I was informed about the brilliant urban legend that has been doing the rounds for the past few years about my favourite ghost-buster Bill Murray…

"I ain't afraid of no ghosts...."

If you haven’t heard it – the story goes like this:

A man goes about New York city, lurking about the back streets at night, creeping up behind people and covering their eyes.

It’s when they turn around that they realise – it’s Bill. Fre-jeaking. Murray.

He then whispers “No one will ever believe you” and runs away into the darkness.

I wanted to know more. My terrible google habit kicked in and some of you will be pleased to know that I found (thankfully) this subject was broached in a GQ article a couple of years ago. Mr Murray’s response:

“I know. I know, I know, I know. I’ve heard about that from a lot of people. A lot of people. I don’t know what to say. There’s probably a really appropriate thing to say. Something exactly and just perfectly right. [long beat, and then he breaks into a huge grin] But by God, it sounds crazy, doesn’t it? Just so crazy and unlikely and unusual?”

– Bill Murray, Courtesy of GQ Magazine

The cryptic nature of this reply gives me hope that this urban legend has a potential element of truth…

PS: Whilst writing this – I suddenly thought of this song… we love you Bill.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

