What came first – the music or the misery…?

John Cusack makes a very good point.

Songs of heart break and misery are what have shaped key musical moments in our love lives.

As I write I’m listening to Corinna Corinna by Bob Dylan.

“But I ain’ a-got Corrina,
Life don’t mean a thing”

Corrina, Corrina – Bob Dylan

Songs of lost love can hammer home those moments of solace. Where the world – even just for a moment – fell apart.

Is this because we listen to these songs when feeling the blues or is it that there’s always a song that can make you feel even sadder.

I’m not sure either arguement is right. I think it’s OK to feel sad. Music is there for you for every moment, such as…

When you’re madly head over heels in love you’ll slam on a tune to pump your soul with love.

“At last, my love has come along.
My lonely days are over...
And life is like a song.”

At Last – Etta James

Having an angry moment? There’s definitely a rock tune out there to help you let it all out.

“Landlords and power whores
On my people they took turns
Dispute the suits I ignite
And then watch ’em burn”

Bombtrack – Rage Against the Machine

 When you’re going out with your friends – there’ll always be that song that gets you in the mood for the night ahead

“Finally Friday night
Feelin’ kinda good, lookin’ alright
Gotta get movin’, can’t be late
Gotta get groovin’, just can’t wait”

S Club Party – S Club 7 
(Because – obviously – there ain’t no party like an S Club Party.) 

 … and almost definitely a song for the morning after the night before.

“Went out drinking late last night,
I had a blast.
But now the morning light has come
and kicked my ass.”

Worst Hangover Ever – The Offspring

 And those darker moments of loneliness – there’ll always be that song to comfort you and make you realise you are not alone in your feelings…

“I left my home in Georgia
Headed for the ‘Frisco bay
‘Cause I’ve had nothing to live for
And look like nothin’s gonna come my way”

(Sittin‘ On) The Dock of the Bay – Otis Redding

So John, to answer your question – you listen to music because it’s always there for you, regardless of how you’re feeling.

Besides, looks like Bob survived without Corinna – right?

Ps – if you haven’t already you should read/watch Hi Fidelity.
Both book and film are awesome. And terribly quotable.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

