Colour my life with the trouble of chaos…

“This is a story of boy meets girl,
but you should know upfront,
this is not a love story.”

– 500 Days of Summer

Everyone has an unrequited love once in their lives.

It’s a painful experience that sometimes you feel you will never get over. Some people never do. But the story always goes the same way…

You meet someone special. Someone so special that suddenly life flashes forward to your first kiss… your wedding day… the babies… the perfect life. Then you suddenly realise they don’t feel the same way.

I’ll always remember those feelings rush through me when we met.

He was the one that got away. The one that was never to be.

I fell for him the moment I saw his goofy smile. His blue eyes and scruffy hair.

He was definitely the cutest boy in my class. We may have only been five years old but I was in love.

I would try and sit next to him in assembly. I’d tactically try and be partnered up with him for PE and always would sit close by at lunch. Sadly he had other desires, like sticking his tongue out at me and trying to lift other girls skirts up.

I was crushed.

One day I’ll get over it… I’ll let you know when…

…but in the meantime let’s not forget unrequited love is there for a reason. To show us that when someone who does appreciate you and want to be around you comes along – that suddenly a whole new world opens up for you. And there’s someone who’ll always be there for you, and you’ll be there for them.

So here’s to all the unrequited lovers – continue your loving – your time will come…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

