Be good to yourself.

“It was my fault.” My friend sighs as she slumps behind her frappacino. “I was out of order.”

Love trouble. Again. I push the iced beverage aside and look her in the eye.

“It’s never your fault if you get upset from time to time.” I reassure her. “Everyone is allowed to get upset every now and then. And it’s ok to let someone know that.”

Her boyfriend was ignoring her calls and texts after she got mad at him for not turning up to the cinema for a date. A fair enough reason to be mega pissed off in my books. Quite rightly she threw her toys out of the pram and he in return moaned that she was melodramatic. My friend is a little over the top at times but it’s part of her charm really. I love her theatrical ways and its endearing that she cares so much.

Standing up your girlfriend of 2 years is not fair – but to then ignorez-vous her and make her feel like crap just because she was upset about it is beyond dickheaded.

He’d left her hanging for over a week and she was a wreck. I consoled and cuddled and told her to really think about whether this was an appropriate way to treat someone. Because in my books it is not.

True to form they worked it out and she’s gone back to him after she apologised to him. Again. It got me thinking, is it ok to be with someone who makes you feel bad about being you?

For some reason a scene from the film Juno came to mind. A bizarre choice of movie for love advice maybe but there’s a thing Juno’s father said that is really quite sensible:

 

Look, in my opinion, the best thing you can do is find a person who loves you for exactly what you are. Good mood, bad mood, ugly, pretty, handsome, what have you, the right person is still going to think the sun shines out your ass. That’s the kind of person that’s worth sticking with.

So this post is for my wonderfully woeful friend. There’s someone out there who will love you just the way you are.

And you’re pretty damn great.

x

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

