Battle on the home front…

Saturday morning my eyes opened at 9am. ‘What a lovely sunny morning!’ I thought to myself as I opened the curtains.

I switched the radio on and my favourite song was playing. It was going to be a good day. Little did I know that shortly this serene scene was about to be shattered…

I stepped out of the shower, wrapped my towel around me and proceeded to wrap my other towel around my head in a turban-like fashion. As I walked out of the bathroom to go back to my room I froze. There he was stood before me on the landing. How did he get in?

I couldn’t believe he had come back. I’d prayed he would leave me alone from now on but here he was again. I was vulnerable and all alone as my housemates were away for the weekend. I can’t say I wasnt terrified. The hairs on the back of my neck stood on end. I felt violated that my space was being invaded again.

We’d been here before. The confrontation wasn’t pretty last time. I’d won that round and I could sense revenge was being sought.

Without saying a word and as calmly as I could, I passed him and closed the door of my room and dressed as quickly as possible.

I decided to leave for work immediately to avoid further confrontation.

I came out of my room and I was alone. Had there already been a retreat back behind enemy lines?
No.

As I reached the top of the stairs leading down to my front door there he was, stood in my way. A bold move.

I passed by as quickly as I could. I avoided eye contact with him. I didn’t want to have another fight. I don’t believe in violence unless it is absolutely necessary.

It dawned on me that I was being a coward. So as I walked out of the door, I gave a parting word of warning: “Don’t be here when I get back.”

Off to work I went and during the day I tried to put the whole unnerving scenario behind me. Later that night I came home calm and collected. I took a deep breath as I opened the door to my hopefully empty flat.

Sure enough my warning had worked. He was gone. I looked around – no sign. I was relieved. I could sleep easy knowing we didn’t need to get involved in any complicated conflict. It had happened too many times before.

I got into my pyjamas, brushed my teeth and got into bed. As I lay my head on the pillow and was about to turn my light off, I realised I wasn’t alone.

For right above my head on the ceiling was my enemy, casting a sinister shadow across the white paint. All eight of his massive hairy creepy legs arched, mocking me. Too high for me to flatten him with a rolled up magazine.

He had won this round.

So, with as much dignity as I could muster I accepted defeat.

And retreated to sleep on the sofa.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Battle on the home front…

  1. You’re a wonderful writer, Lexi! Have just been reading over your posts. What I love about them is that while they’re entertaining and tongue in cheek, there’s also a tenderness to them. Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

