Sisters, sisters… There were never such devoted sisters…

Having a big sister is a challenge.

In fact she drives me crazy most of the time.

Those of you fortunate enough to have one too will know that despite the ups and downs of siblings on the whole, it’s pretty ace.

But I don’t know where I’d be without mine. Since we were little she and I have laughed together, cried together and no matter what, been together. Of course it’s not always smooth sailing. I’ll still never forgive her for breaking my doll’s head off when Barbie became the victim of a tug-of-war one rainy afternoon. But equally she then felt bad when I cried and gave me a cuddle.

When I’m sick she always texts me to see if I’m feeling better. We go to the pub sometimes but she cringes if I embarrass her in front of her friends. We watch tv together, tease our younger siblings, talk about boys and keep closely guarded the secrets of when we threw a house party while our parents were away. As well as that we of course bicker when one borrows items of clothing without asking or invades a bedroom unannounced.

As well as her being there for me I am of course there for her too when she needs me. When she was hospitalised earlier this year my other two sisters and I sat with her and watched My Girl on a portable DVD player in intensive care. We put flowers in her room and leant her our favourite DVDs and extra pillows during her recovery. We cared for her just as she cares for us when we go through a bad time. That’s what sisters do.

Last year on Christmas Day we all irritated our father by playing Girl’s Aloud’s Greatest hits with much pleasure. It’s fun having a sister and to be honest our siblings are a big part of who we all grow up to be.

I can’t imagine a world without Loretta. My big sister. My rock.

Which is why when I read that if UKIP candidate Geoffrey Clark has his way future generations could be denied their right to having a brother or sister my heart sank.

In fact ninety percent of pregnancies carrying a baby with Down’s Syndrome are already terminated each year in the UK. That means there are a lot of children out there without their sibling, possibly because in Clark’s words it is thought “if it is born, it could render the child a burden on the state as well as on the family.”

Well I just want you all to know that no one should ever be considered a burden. My sister may sometimes need my support, but no matter what I will move heaven and earth to always make sure she receives it. Wouldn’t you do the same for your sibling?

She is not a burden on our family and she never, ever will be.

Image

Ps – Mr Clark you may have deleted your disgusting remarks from your manifesto now, but like hell are us Rose girls ever going to forget that you said it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sisters, sisters… There were never such devoted sisters…

  1. Ishbel

    Lexi, this is a wonderful, powerful blog entry. Well said! Can’t believe politicians operating in the UK today could make such ridiculous comments. Hope to see you sisters soon xxx

  2. Wonderful and heartfelt. Thank you for sharing Lexi. T xx

Leave a Reply

