The Margaret Thatcher Street Party.

When I heard rumours that a “Margaret Thatcher is Dead Street Party” was being organised in Brixton – just hours after the announcement of her death – a sense of disbelief and pure curiosity encouraged me to pull on my shoes and walk down my road to the heart of SW2.

The day had been a weird one so far. I was surprised to see so many people on social networking suddenly speaking out about politics. But not current politics. The language and hatred towards Margaret Thatcher has indeed shocked me. More than one friend wrote “Ding Dong the Witch is Dead” on facebook.

But nothing prepared me for what I saw in Brixton this evening.

I assumed it was more a backlash at our current government’s attempt to repeat history. Their plans very similar to those put forward during the era of the Iron Lady. Stirred up anger at current cuts, bedroom taxes and the injustice to the poorer corners of our community.

But no. This purely appeared to be two hundred people dancing  and celebrating the death of an 87 year old woman. A woman who – regardless of your opinion on her policies – led a rich and colourful life. And cut a pretty lonely figure towards the end. Battles with dementia that destroyed her greatest asset – her mind. A strong woman crippled by ill health to the point she became a recluse. A woman who was left very much alone after the death of her husband. Her children were sadly abroad at the time of her death.

Today is NOT the day we’ve all been waiting for.

Today IS the day that if you really give a damn about what she did back in the 1980’s you’d start fighting back against history repeating itself.

It’s ok to be angry – but use the anger to make change! Not jump onto bandwagon politics.

The experience of attending a street party celebrating the death of a fellow human being  has left me feeling very empty indeed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments

April 8, 2013 · 11:17 pm

4 responses to “The Margaret Thatcher Street Party.

  1. You have a point, I understand and I don’t want to dance on her grave but I AM old enough to remember and I cannot mourn her loss.

    • No one needs to mourn her death. I’m certainly not – I didn’t know her. But equally no one needs to celebrate it either.

      If people are angry at the way she led the country then they should be turning their anger towards the current government as they are pretty much repeating history. That’s where the energy is needed and certainly where I’m putting my energy.

  2. Em Gunning

    Agreed Lexi. Is exactly what I thought!

Leave a Reply

